Workflows

Overview

Workflows are used to configure automated actions that run when a Technology or List's contents change, triggered automatically after our weekly data updates.

Workflow tab on a List
The Workflow tab, shown here on a List, before any workflow has been created.

Creating a Workflow

  1. To create a Workflow on a Technology or List, visit its page and click the Create Workflow button.

    Create Workflow button on a Technology page
    Create Workflow button on a Technology page.
  2. Click Add Action to Workflow and choose one or more actions for the workflow. Available actions are described in more detail below.

    Add Action to Workflow menu
    Choosing an action to add to a workflow.
  3. Click the Save button.

    The actions will run automatically after our next weekly data update. If you want to run the workflow sooner, click Save and Run Now instead.

Workflow Actions

Workflows currently support the following actions:

Email Action

This action sends an email summarizing the domains that installed or uninstalled the Technology, or that were added to or removed from the List, for the Workflow. The action can be configured to send the email to multiple recipients.

Email Action configuration
Email Action configuration.
Workflow email sample
Workflow email sample.
Amazon S3 Action

This action delivers data in JSONL format to Amazon S3. To use this action, the Amazon S3 integration must be enabled.

Google Cloud Storage Action

This action delivers data in JSONL format to Google Cloud Storage. To use this action, the Google Cloud Storage integration must be enabled.

Add Google Cloud Storage Delivery Action to a workflow
Add a Google Cloud Storage Delivery Action to a workflow.

Disabling Actions

Actions within a workflow can be disabled. A disabled action will be skipped the next time the workflow is run. This is useful when you want to run the same action again in the future without having to reconfigure it from scratch.

To disable an action, click on the action's menu icon and select Disable. The action can be enabled again from the same menu.

Removing a Workflow

If you wish to delete the workflow, and all of its actions, visit the Technology or List's page and click the Edit Workflow button. This will open the workflow configuration dialog. Click the Delete Workflow button to remove it.

Listing all Workflows

To see all of your existing Workflows across every Technology and List, visit the Workflows page in the Dashboard.